The Little Things

The recent death of a family member has me thinking a lot about life lately.

As I listened to friends and family reminisce about him during his memorial service, the term “bucket list” came up, a list of things you want to do before you die.

I don’t have a bucket list. I’ve never even thought of having one, until now.

I envy the people who know what they want to do, where they want to go, and people they want to meet. My circumstances in life have often changed quickly and drastically, so keeping a list without crossing out and changing items would be close to impossible, and I may run the risk of feeling like a failure.

Instead, I’ve decided to try to focus on the many wonderful things that happen in my life daily; the people I encounter, the personal growth I experience due to facing and overcoming challenges, and the many opportunities I’m given to try to make the world a better place.

I’ve started this Blog to document these parts of my life journey. It’s something I have always wanted to do (write), which is why I have titled it “1st Check Off The Bucket List”.

I’ve had some incredible little experiences, with pretty huge outcomes and worthy of mentioning. That’s not to say I won’t find myself traveling the world or the country with my family one day. But my highlight won’t be on the destination, it will be on the path that gets me there. And I hope to write about all of it here.

There is lots of joy to be had in simply living our lives!

“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”
~ Robert Brault

6 thoughts on “The Little Things

Leave a Reply

